Expassionates: (pictured) Troy Van Horn, Bryan Hicks, Matt Richey, Patrick Alonzo Conway, Scott Easterday, Nate Hofer. (photo by Todd Zimmer)

It’s the first CD album written and produced by Scott Easterday and recorded by Expassionates in 1998. The new band includes Easterday on vocal, guitar and keyboard; Bryan Hicks, bass and Nate Hofer, pedal steel, who both played on the original recording, plus Troy Van Horn, guitar; Matt Richey, drums; and Patrick Alonzo Conway, saxophone and percussion.

Troy Van Horn, guitar, has worked with Federation of Horsepower, Great Vehicle and Gentleman Echo.

Bryan Hicks, bass, plays with numerous jazz combos in town and worked with Karrin Allyson, Ida McBeth, Tommy Ruskin, and Malachy Papers.

Matt Richey, drums, has played with Dead Voices, Grisly Hand, Mikal Shapiro, Tiny Horse, and Blessed Broke.

Scott Easterday, singer/songwriter, wrote and produced the original recording. He’s recently worked with a version of Expassionates with a different lineup, and performed with ‘easterday,’ his band from the 90s and sang duo shows with Elaine McMilian.

Patrick Alonzo Conway, saxophone and percussion, works with the projects Boogaloo 7 and BCR; composes for ensembles like newEar and The People’s Liberation Big Band and is the director of the community Balinese gamelan Genta Kasturi.

Nate Hofer, pedal steel, plays with Rex Hobart and the Misery Boys and Phantoms of the Opry.

Chad Meise was the engineer of the original recording in 1998 featuring Bryan Hicks, Nate Hofer, Ryan Bennett, Marco Pascolini, Richard Alwyn, Mark Sutherland and Jazzbo (Bill Hargrave).